#PLENK2010

It was only by chance that I came across Personal Learning Environments Networks and Knowledge 2010 or more intimately known as PLENK2010. My research about social computing in teaching and learning has introduced new term/concept such as Personal Learning Environment (PLE) which led me to PLENK2010. I see my participation as a great opportunity which is insightful and just the right time for data gathering for my research. I truly thank God I found it.

PLENK2010 is actually an online course promoting PLE as part of joint venture research between National Research Council of Canada (Institute for Information Technology, Learning and collaborative Technologies Group, PLE Project), The Technology Enhanced Knowledge Research Institute at Athabasca University and the University of Prince Edward Island. There are a few facilitators to guide us throughout the 10 weeks course. Currently, I suspect there are more than thousands participants from all over the world.

PLE is about giving students choice and control over their own learning process with the use of Web 2.0 technology. That’s what exactly PLENK2010 wants to achieve or maybe more. I will explain more about PLE later in another post. I’m currently on the 3rd week in the course and each week we have some recommended readings about topics about PLE and some activities for us to contribute knowledge. Last week, we were asked to produce a concept map about what we understand about PLE. I just did a simple one, trying to map what I understand about PLENK2010.

Facilitators have already outlined weekly schedule on the topic we should learn. Activities are provided on weekly basis although they are not compulsory. Remember that PLE is all about student’s choice, so they are not forced to do activities though they may help the learning process. But the choice is at the hand of the participants. Participants are to participate by reading recommended blog posts (normally by the facilitators) as a mean to kick-start the learning of new knowledge. They can start discussions on any topic in the Moodle forum, provided by the PLENK2010 platform. They are encouraged to produce artifacts (blog, microblogging, video/podcasts or any other tools that they want). The facilitators would collect all the artifacts and put them in The Daily (an email newsletter) which is sent daily to all participants. There is also two weekly live sessions between facilitators and participants and sometimes featuring guest speakers. Recordings are stored for later time access.

At the moment, I’m still trying to get accustom to this new learning environment. I believe there are more to discuss and share as the course continue. Just wish I have more time to spend on this.

Leave a Reply

