Mendeley Tip: Using Web Importer

One of the best thing I learned during my Mendeley presentation was the Web Importer function on web browser. If you have not explored this function before, let me show you how you can simplify the process of importing articles while you search through the various databases.

Click here to get to this page to install the web importer on your browser. It’s very easy. Just drag and drop  to your bookmark bar.

I did it on my Chrome browser and it looks like this.

There’s a long list of databases (at item 2 in the page) that work well with the web importer. I personally have tried on ACM Portal, Google Scholar, ScienceDirect, SpringerLink and IEEE Xplore. These works perfectly for me.

This is an example on Google Scholar. I was searching for articles about scaffolding and learner autonomy. Google Scholar presented a list of possible match. I clicked on the Import to Mendeley function on my bookmark bar and another window pop-up as shown above. (Note: Make sure you unblock pop-up blocker for Mendeley in order for this to work.)

Then I clicked Import on the article I wanted. If there’s a PDF file attached together, this will be imported to Mendeley library too.

Once it’s successfully imported, you can see a message as shown above. You can view it directly on the Mendeley Web or in Mendeley Desktop after you click Sync.

In Mendeley Desktop, go to Recently Added category, there you will find your latest articles imported. Just that easy. This is another good way to minimize extra work by downloading the PDF file and then drag-and-drop to Mendeley Desktop. If the articles can be found on the databases on the web, just use this Import to Mendeley function.

The only problem I have with this is unable to work around proxy. My university library provides remote access to databases under the university’s subscription through the library secure website and a proxy. The Import to Mendeley just doesn’t work if I access the databases out of the University’s network. So I devise my own workaround that actually gives me extra steps. Doesn’t matter as long as it works for me.

Have you tried this Import to Mendeley function before? If not, do try it and let me know what you think. 

 

Leave a Reply

