Do you blog?

First of all, I’m really sorry that this space hasn’t been updated recently because I have an on-going project in the office that requires all my attention. I’m also very sorry that the supposedly AP #AcWri chat for yesterday has been cancelled due to my unpredictable schedule and lack of co-host (anyone interested to become my co-host in future chat?). If you have been following this space for useful updates, please forgive me for the lack of writing.

Here is the summary of AP #AcWri chat for Wednesday 16 January 2013, which was co-hosted by Ms Pelf to chat about if blogging helps in your academic writing. In conjunction with the topic, both Ms Pelf and I came up with an idea for a short survey to gather information from you to see if you do blog? We are hoping to gather a list of blog URLs for sharing purposes, in a way to encourage more people to blog and read/comment on each other blogs. If you haven’t seen the survey yet, please click here to fill up the short survey.

All in all, many of us still question the need for a blog in relation to our academic writing. There are quite a few issues that keep potential academic writers to start/maintain a blog such as time (do we really have extra time to keep a blog running?), content (how much can we share about our research on our blog?), feedback (does lack of comments make you feel less motivated to write?), etc. However, some of us have also demonstrated that blogging has its usefulness and great potential in helping us in writing. As for myself, this blog is the best decision ever when I started my dissertation. With this space, I have learned more than I expected and more importantly I have also met so many people who have given me useful tips and encouragement in order for me to reach the finish line. If you have thought about starting a blog and need some help, please do not hesitate to contact me. I’m not the true expert but I will help you as much as I can. Sharing is always caring πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

