How to be happier in learning

While I’m still on training this week and still have the mood to write, let me share about my way of learning. I guess we all would agree that how we learn makes a big difference in our learning experience. I find that getting into a particular learning process that you are comfortable with, would improve your learning experience. For me, my stationery contributes a big part of my learning process. Although I’m in the IT field and obviously I have so many gadgets to help me in my learning, I’m still kind of old-fashion in certain way when it comes to my learning process. I still need my colorful pens, notebooks, and other cute stationery that keep me motivated in learning. If you know me well by reading this blog, you should know my number one requirement for my stationery is BLUE.

Here is my precious blue notebook that I bought quite some times ago. Originally, I was keeping this for my eventual PhD. When I was getting ready for this week’s networking training, I was searching high and low for a notebook so that I can start my own ‘network bible’. I used to have one simple notebook for my previous networking lessons last year and that notebook has already run out of pages. So, I decided to use this precious blue notebook for my ‘network bible’ as I think I can always get more blue notebooks for my PhD later. Haha!

Anyway, what I really want to say is everything blue makes my learning happier. Other than the topics and the way the lessons are delivered (which are not under my control most of the times but they are still important elements in learning process), getting stationery you like can improve your overall learning process. At the very least, you should be motivated to learn by looking at the things you like, right? Of course, that’s not all you can do to improve your learning process. Learning is simply so subjective and it varies from one person to the other. Finding the right way for yourself is essential for success. Motivation is the key to keep you on the right track. Hence, it is very important to find the right things to keep you motivated and happier so that you are always on the right track in your learning.

Do you have better ways that make your learning happier? Do share with me.

2 thoughts on “How to be happier in learning

  1. I am in my first year of a PhD in STEM Education, and my favorite thing that makes me happy is my notebook (these notebooks in fact: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1997741326/the-series-e2-notebook). I have a quote on the front cover of notebook one that says, “Mankind is not a circle with a single center but an ellipse with two focal points of which facts ore one and ideas the other. – Victor Hugo.” Every class when I pull it out I think a happy thought. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

