Wrapping up the academic year

The last semester for the academic year is finally over. All my invigilating and marking duties have been completed too. I was supposed to have more time to update here but I couldn’t because I have been busy preparing my new course for next semester, another new academic year. Anyway, since it’s the end of the semester, I have a lot of things to look forward to before another semester begins.

First up, I’m looking forward to my birthday this weekend. No special celebration as birthday is just another day that especially reminding me of my increasing age. Haha! I’m just going to spend quality time with the husband and probably a nice catch up session with my best friend who is going to join me for brunch on my birthday.

Next up is real exciting for me. I’m going for a 1-week training starting next Monday. Why is it so exciting? This training will be one great milestone in my academic career (if I pass the certification!). For information security professionals, the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certification is the most esteemed achievement. I have specially requested for such training because I have been teaching a few security courses and I found myself not up to the level I wish I had. Hence, I’m hoping after the training I will have more confidence in doing all kind of security courses and eventually getting myself ready to pass the certification. My next new course will benefit a lot from this training too and I have been reading up and listening to audio lecture before the training. It’s not going to be an easy one but I’m confident I can do this.

After working hard for one academic year, I believe I deserve a good vacation. That’s what I’m going to do next. All my vacation plans have been finalized. First, we are going to Taipei, Taiwan for around a week, then we are going for island vacation within Malaysia. Just thinking about this makes me so excited and happy.

I have done some research and studying the transport map for Taipei. The husband printed this map for me to make notes on. Quite cool, right? I highlighted the stations that we are going for destinations that we want to visit. We have no definite itinerary yet but we have rough idea where we want to go. This will be my longest vacation ever and my first time being so ambitious to have two vacation destinations back to back in 2 weeks. I don’t usually get long semester break and this is the one and only time we get longer than usual holiday. Unfortunately, this will not happen again when the semester dates are synchronized after this. Hence, I’m taking full advantage of this opportunity and I’m sure I’m going to enjoy every moment of it.

Until my next update, wishing you a nice weekend ahead!

One thought on “Wrapping up the academic year

Leave a Reply

