My reading list for 2017

I have tried my best to read as much as possible according to my study plan since my last post. Am I successful? I would say far from it. I’m still at Chapter 1, though I’m already at page 130. However, the start of Chapter 2 is at page 189. So another 50 pages more to go. Another reason I’m far from completing my reading is because I read other books in between too. My reading list is rather lengthy by now because I’m too greedy. I wish I have all the time to do just reading.

Let’s look at my current reading list for this year:

CISSP All-in-One Exam Guide, Seventh Edition – my aim is to read, practice the exam questions and take the certification exam this year. Of course, I read too in preparation for teaching most of the InfoSec courses in my campus.

CompTIA Security+ Study Guide: SY0-401, 6th Edition – the undergraduate programme under my care is going to incorporate this certification as part of the syllabus so I’m reading it to see its coverage and to reinforce my InfoSec knowledge. This book is an easy ready so far. I have completed Chapter 1.

Secrets and Lies: Digital Security in a Networked World – being an InfoSec enthusiast, Bruce Schneier is a big name in the field. I love his books. I’m so happy to find this book in my campus library. I read it for leisure at home and already halfway through. I wish my campus library has more of his books.

Spam Nation: The Inside Story of Organized Cybercrime-from Global Epidemic to Your Front Door – started reading this out of my interest in cybercrime. It’s really an interesting story and I’m really impressed with Brian Krebs’ journalism dedication in revealing the dark side of the cyber world. 

Impossible to Ignore: Creating Memorable Content to Influence Decisions – I got this book quite long ago with the intention to learn the best technique to captivate my students with my lectures. I was hoping with some good techniques, my students would not tell me that they have forgotten whatever I said in lecture. 

The Dance of the Possible – I have been following Scott Berkun for years and I’m quite in love with his books. Being his fans, we got to download his latest book for reading and review (for a very limited time). I have finished the first few chapters and they are really interesting on how we think about creativity.

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind – I read recently that this book is so good so being the greedy me, I went to search for it and found a copy. I have read the first few pages and they are really interesting. I wish I can write like Yuval Noah Harari. Another great author to admire.

See, I’m not kidding that I’m greedy when come to books. I wish I have all the time to just read these books. No doubt, I have been doing a lot of readings since I joined academia. Reading students’ assignments, reports, and the like. Haha!

2 thoughts on “My reading list for 2017

Leave a Reply

