Reading Challenge 2018

I recently realized that I hadn’t read much in 2017. If reading textbooks and project reports counted as something, then I had read quite a number of them. Around the end of January 2018, where semester had come to the end, I started to look around for reading inspirations. I knew there were many reading challenges on the web and I had joined one or two many years ago, which resulted in failure. I remembered interesting reading challenge from PopSugar that I found some years ago so I googled for the latest challenge.

The list is getting more interesting than I remembered. So for the start, I searched for a few books that fit the the first part of the list in this challenge. Thanks to my campus library, I found “The next book in a series that you started” and I learned what is “Nordic Noir” about and found the right book for this category to read. I also picked a novel for “A book made into a movie you’ve already seen”.

These really got me excited and I have been reading happily for the past week. I hope I can finish what I started and continue on for the year. Let’s wait and see.

tmp_rafcfp_08fcdf300d296fed_ps17_11_1_readinglist

Books I have picked:

  • A book made into movie that you’ve already seen: Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  • The next book in a series you started: Shadow’s Claim by Kresley Cole
  • Nordic Noir: The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

Anyone has good book to recommend for other categories? Do share with me. Thanks.

9 thoughts on “Reading Challenge 2018

  1. Ooh. Interesting challenge. One book on my ‘To read list’ is The Pharmacist of Auschwitz, by Patricia Posner. It’s a true story about the the chief pharmacist at Auschwitz. I supposed it could go into the True Crime category?!

  2. I have two more suggestions!

    For the novel about a villain, what about The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks?

    And for the book that is also a musical, what about Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T. S. Eliot? This is actually a poetry book for children, but… why not?! It inspired the musical Cats.

  3. You should continue read the other two books from the millennium series after finishing the girl with Dragon tattoo. The story is great. As for the book written by a female author with male pseudonym, I would suggest “The cuckoo’s calling” (:

    1. Thanks for your good recommendation. I’ll try to read them all. Thanks for suggesting book by female author with male pseudonym. I believed I would have hard time finding one myself.

    1. Hi Ana, how are you? Thanks for checking on me. My progress is slow but I have ticked off the 3 books I mentioned in this post. Now I’m on to True Crime category – Spam Nation by Brian Krebs.

Leave a comment